Undergroundchurch Blog

Preparing the Church for the future

  • UnderGroundChurch

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Day 78: Advocacy

Posted by undergroundchurch on December 29, 2015


Scriptural Nuggets Daily DevotionScriptural Nuggets Daily Devotion

30 years ago I stood before a judge in a traffic court. The court appointed attorney suggested that I just plead “no contest”, which he said was not the same as guilty, but since the evidence was overwhelming against me, I shouldn’t plead “not guilty” and potentially raise the penalty. Some have suggested I should have pleaded not guilty by reasons of insanity since I could have proved that much easier.

My counsel was not the best advocate for my side. He didn’t really fight for me or defend me or even speak for me. He just suggested a course of action and left it to me to say the words.

We all make mistakes, and often times, those mistakes are sins. John wrote a letter to his people that says,

My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father (that is the judge), Jesus Christ the righteous. He is the propitiation (that is appeasement, which produces favor) for our sin, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world. – 1 John 2:2,3

Wow! What an advocate. He isn’t just sitting there recommending that you plead no contest or not guilty by reason of insanity, but he actually stands in your place and gaims favor with the judge. He has all the influence needed to plead your case as “not guilty” and then win the argument.

Leave a Reply

 
