Undergroundchurch Blog

Preparing the Church for the future

  • UnderGroundChurch

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Day 47: Worship Thought – “Reckless Abandon”

Posted by undergroundchurch on April 16, 2011


Scriptural Nuggets Daily DevotionScriptural Nuggets Daily Devotion

I’m thinking right now that this is the possible theme for the summer session of Sunday morning class. Pastor suggested that we read a book called “Radical” by David Platt about a month and a half ago, and I have… oh, my!

In worship, reckless abandon is flipping the tables on what you think worship is and worshiping God the way God wants to be worshiped.

Reckless abandon says,

  • “I’m not ashamed of God, and will dance like David danced and not worry about those around me.”
  • “I will lift my hands when prompted by the Holy Spirit and not worry about what the guy sitting behind me thinks”.
  • “I will run to the front of the auditorium and fall on my face before God in front of the stage and totally abase myself so that God may be exalted”.
  • “I will think only of being with God and not be concerned with how well I sing, that I get the words to the song right, that I stand, sit or kneel because that’s what people expect”.
  • “I will die to myself so that I might live for Christ!”

Reckless abandon is the call of the humble, the duty of the called and act of the chosen.

Leave a Reply

 
