Undergroundchurch Blog

Preparing the Church for the future

  • UnderGroundChurch

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Day 13: The Seven Spirits of God

Posted by undergroundchurch on January 13, 2011

Scriptural Nuggets Daily DevotionScriptural Nuggets Daily Devotion

John, to the seven churches in the province of Asia: Grace and peace to you from him who is, and who was, and who is to come, and from the seven spirits before his throne… – Revelation 1:4

I always love a mystery. I especially love Scripture mysteries.

Not every answer to a question is clear cut in Scripture, but through study, searching and praying, you can draw some conclusions that can satisfy the soul until the day when we “fully know, even as we are fully known”.

What are the “Seven Spirits”?

In Revelation, we see the Seven Spirits of God before God’s throne (1:4). We see that Christ holds them (3:1). They are associated with the lampstand (4:5) and with the seven eyes of Christ, which go out through all the land (5:6).

This doesn’t tell us much more than,

a)    They are close to God and Christ – even belonging to Christ.

b)    They represent the fire, which burns before God and lights the temple.

c)    They go through the land, either gathering information or drawing men to Christ, or some other function of the Holy Spirit.

If we search out the Scriptures, we will find at least one place where the Holy Spirit is defined seven-fold:

The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him—
the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding,
the Spirit of counsel and of might,
the Spirit of the knowledge and fear of the LORD— Isaiah 11:2

This passage primarily refers to Christ and that the Holy Spirit of God will rest on him and work in him the things mentioned in this verse while on earth. When you look at the various names of the Spirit in this verse, you see that Christ definitely reflected each of these aspects in his life.

The Spirit’s primary mission in our life is to make us into the image of Christ.

As the power of the Holy Spirit grows in your life (this only happens as you decrease and Christ increases), each of these elements of the Holy Spirit begins to increase in your life:

  • Spirit of the Lord – Jesus becomes Lord of your life
  • Wisdom – You begin taking on Godly wisdom and leaving worldly wisdom behind
  • Understanding – The things of God transfer from the head to the heart
  • Counsel – Your steps become more directed by God
  • Might – Your confidence in Christ increases and He can do more through you in the power of the Spirit because of increased faith
  • Knowledge – Only the Holy Spirit can reveal the word of God, to the natural man, the things of God are foolishness.
  • Fear of the Lord – As God grows in your life, you begin to realize that He is GOD and SOVEREIGN! This is probably the first step because the “Fear of the Lord is the beginning of Wisdom”

The seven-fold Spirit of the Lord works the things of Christ in you to fashion and form you into His image.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: