Undergroundchurch Blog

Preparing the Church for the future

  • UnderGroundChurch

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 17 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Twitter

    • The greatest intrinsic value a person can have is the extrinsic value placed on them by you. #Selfworth #LovingOthers 3 days ago
    • 500 years ago today, the first Martin Luther nailed his 95 theses on the church door changing the church world as they knew it forever. 2 weeks ago
    • A tie is a button cover. A bow tie says you are proud of your buttons. 3 weeks ago
    • Planet Money is one of my favorite Podcast. This was a great story. 6 Policies Economists Love And Politicians Hate n.pr/OJO8so 1 month ago
    • “Must” leads to enforcement. Enforcement leads to persecution, persecution to hiding, hiding to slavery. Freedom =… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago

Day 12: Can You Do all Things Through Christ?

Posted by undergroundchurch on January 12, 2011


Scriptural Nuggets Daily DevotionScriptural Nuggets Daily Devotion

Philippians 4:13 – ‟I can do all this through him who gives me strength” – NIV, 2010

Yes, the NIV (New International Version) is getting a much needed makeover.

As I read through some of the clarifications and changes they made, none really stuck out to me like the change in this verse.  It is a one word change that really changes everything.

If you recall, in most all translations this verse is rendered, “I can do all things…” I have to say that I have been waiting for someone to translate it so that you can’t just pull one verse out of context and apply it to EVERYTHING!

You see, Paul isn’t talking about “doing all things through Christ”, even if the statement has merit.  The point of the passage is found in the previous two verses.

Paul states in verse 11 & 12, “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

And then he says, “All this I can do through Christ who gives me strength.”

The point Paul brings out is that the issue is contentment not whether or not you can achieve some great thing today.

This probably applies more to us today than it did in Paul’s day. We live in a very discontented society. We upgrade perfectly good TVs because they are only LCD and not LED. We upgrade our house because we want a change of scenery. We lease cars for two years, so we can always have the latest model. We eat in our cars after receiving our evening meal through a restaurant drive-thru window because we don’t want to go home and throw pasta in water, pull out a jar of pasta sauce, sprinkle cheese on it and just be content with the fact that we aren’t having to wait in a line all day for a bowl of rice.

I am convinced that we do not know contentment, and we certainly don’t understand Paul’s meaning when it comes to the secret to contentment.

Christ IS contentment! The one thing Paul is trying to show us is the one thing we are trying to avoid as a society.

Paul is saying “I can do this (be content) through Christ who gives me strength.

Maybe today’s prayer should simply be, “Lord, help to just be content with what you have blessed me with.”

 

Leave a Reply

 
