Undergroundchurch Blog

Preparing the Church for the future

  • UnderGroundChurch

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Twitter

Wisdom from Mistakes

Posted by undergroundchurch on September 16, 2010


Tests aren’t my strong suit, mainly cause I over think them.  However, one thing is constant with me and tests… I learn more from what I get wrong than what I get right.

Yep… it’s that nagging feeling that comes from the frustration of getting a question wrong that brings out a standard response that goes something like this…

  1. The test must be wrong
  2. I know I studied that
  3. I misread the question
  4. Oh, that’s what they meant
  5. OK… I will concede

Because I put so much effort in fighting the fact that I got it wrong, the right answer has somehow embedded itself in my gray matter, so in the end, I learn more from what I got wrong than the questions I got right.

My life is like that in general…. but that is for another blog… or an autobiography

Biblical Application

When I read Corinthians, I get that same feeling.  Yes, the church at Corinth had problems, but we have what I believe is the most practical letter from Paul about how church should operate because that one church had such problems.

We can learn a plethora of good “church tips” from Paul’s corrective instruction.  

  • All those gifts are given for the church’s benefit
  • The most gifted church is nothing without love
  • Just how do we facilitate a healthy atmosphere for correction in the church
  • What should be done about those living in sin in the church
  • The church is all about unity in Christ
  • Can we be Christians and live like the world
  • How do we deal with freedom
  • What is the role of the Holy Spirit in the church
  • How can we obtain balance between order and spirit leading
  • What is our ministry
  • What is our treasure
  • And so much more

So much good comes from so many mistakes.  When you make mistakes, you have two choices

  1. Let the mistake lead you into more mistakes and eventually down the road of despair
  2. Learn from the mistake, and use that knowledge to gain wisdom

I choose the latter.

Leave a Reply

 
