Undergroundchurch Blog

Preparing the Church for the future

  • UnderGroundChurch

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Subscribe

  • Twitter

Image and Song

Posted by undergroundchurch on October 20, 2009


I think in pictures and sound.

I love to write, but I tend to read slow because the words slowly absorb into my mind in order to be converted to images.  The process takes a considerable amount of time, hence the reading issues.

Songs work in the same manner, only they tend to drive deep inside my core. I don’t process them as slowly, but I dotend to go into “loop” mode.  I define loop mode as a meditative thinking process.  I grab a key phrase, sound or concept in the song and simply repeat it indefinitely in my cranial cavity.

These wonderfully abstract methods of interpretive perception pose no real challenge until they combine.  For example, when I watch a musical on TV, loads of emotions flood my soul to the point that my kids make fun of me.

“Dad, are you crying again?”

I wipe the tears away discreetly and mumble, “No.”

Of course, the evidence disproves my futile attempt at redeeming my manhood, but I can’t avoid the inevitable – Image and Song speak to me.

This might explain why worship effects me the way it does.  This morning, on the way to work, I listened to a song over and over until I arrived, and then once there, looked for the video on Youtube so that I could satisfy the image component and thus be thoroughly satisfied.  I found it and placed it at the end of this article for you enjoyment.

The simplicity of the song and the video might fool you, but the power in the simple words and the simple ease with which the singers build the song in a gentle yet driving fashion embed the thought in your heart – “I will Exalt You”.

The angels stand around the throne of God day and night uttering the phrase, “Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was and is and is to come” (Revelation 4:8). That’s it! And they never get bored?  God’s awesome nature must exhibit some serious power if it keeps these creatures in a mode of repetitive worship day and night.

Anyway, this post just rambles on, so without further ado, the video:  Watch it, Listen to it, feel the words, listen again and close your eyes and meditate upon the Lord, the maker of the heavens and the earth and all that is in them.  He was, is and is to come!

One Response to “Image and Song”

  1. Daniel said

    I relate more with this post. It’s hard for me to think about the words of the songs sometimes because I think about the music more. I think about the harmony, how close or how far it is to the melody, if it blends well. I think about the chords being used and how I can recreate them later. I evaluate the voice of the person singing, if thy sing freely or if thir vocal chords are constricted. There is so much to think about in a song that I sometimes don’t have time for the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

 
